• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/21/2020

    3 day visit

    in remote canyon --open (no tree cover) had camp 11 and 12 -- not busy and was quiet-- good hot shower and clean-- not there to boat-- but to hike which was lacking-- better if you had water craft ie-- kayaks/ stand up boards/ etc...
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/14/2020

    Too late

    This is our third time staying here in the last 11 years but first with horses. It appears it’s no longer a well kept secret place to camp as the regular sites were mostly full. We stayed 3 nights (Th,F,S). The weather was pretty poor the first night with 50deg rain and wind but good the other 2 with almost 90 for a high Saturday. The reservoir was extremely low and the water cold, likely from the snow earlier in the week. The water level made all beaches in the horse area unusable due to the clay/mud those beaches are made of. The regular camp beaches are more rocky and sandy so were still good to use. We walked over to the beach by the vault toilet to let the horses play and no one bothered us. The vault toilet in the horse area was clean but didn’t have TP the first day so we used our own. The next day the ranger cleaned and left 3 rolls. There were a lot of cars coming back on Saturday looking for a party out there somewhere. The trails weren’t really mowed and the markers were few and far between so it was a fun scavenger hunt to try to follow the trail but we eventually made it to the overlook. Would be nice if there was a loop rather than having to come back on the same trail. Corals are nice and big at 20x20 but we’re all thistles, would be nice if they were maintained a little better. Overall a good place to camp and ride. We'll be back again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/10/2020

    Horse Camp

    We stayed at the horse camp on the Shep’s canyon side of Angostura. We do pay to stay there but there are no hookups. The only thing that is provided is a bathroom. We did shower at the Shep’s canyon campground but got scolded because we were not staying directly in that camp ground. If this is an issue I would highly recommend building some showers and a bigger restroom area in the horse camp or not charge anything to stay there. If we are paying to stay in that camp ground we should be able to shower in Shep’s canyon camp ground. We were also in a burn ban during the Labor Day weekend so we did not have a fire but almost every other camp site around us had their fires burning. If they are going to enforce the burn ban and say they will fine people then they should have more supervision. For people who follow the laws it’s not fair to sit there and see others not following the law but get away with it as well.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/04/2020

    Shep’s Canyon campground.

    Campground was very clean. I only stayed one night but enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. Camp had shower and flush toilet facilities and a vault toilet.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/30/2020

    Not worth price

    Would rate overall a 3 out of 5. We paid a lot of money for just electric and no shade whatsoever. We still had to drive to the free camping to access swimming at the lake. Being as it was full when we made reservations in June and no one was there I would think prices could be lower. There is a small shower house but you need directions to know how to use and the water runs for about 90 seconds before it stops and you have to try to turn back with soap in eyes. We would recommend the free camping if you are not worried about electricity. If paying we would recommend the other campgrounds on the other side of lake due to shade and not looking like a baron desolate empty place.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/27/2020

    Camping trip

    Peaceful camping trip of two days and nights with some time on the water in our pontoon. We chose to come on Sunday afternoon and stay until Tuesday to avoid the crowds. It worked out well that way and I would recommend to others to stay during the week if they are able. Less campers and boats on the water.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/26/2020

    Kelly

    Dogs running around everywhere, even at our site when we are trying to eat. Dog poo all over even at the beach, which is full of litter anyhow
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/23/2020

    unhappy

    do not like the fact that the camp host does not hold everyone to the same standards. Many campers had dogs running all over not on leashes. We had 4 them come running at us barking and growling. I go here several times a year and if this keeps up I will not return. My dogs were always on leashes.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/21/2020

    Fun!

    This is a great value and a hidden gem! There is direct water access and clean facilities. There is also a fresh water station, dump area, and showers! So worth your money!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/18/2020

    Vacation getaway

    Was phenomenal experience gorgeous view, nice and quiet, spacious, very clean kept and would definitely book for the lodge again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 8
    Back to top