• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    02/19/2020

    Winter Beware

    Because the fishing was so great we had a great time. The problem was that the website said vault toilets would be open and they weren't. Nobody ever answered the phone when we tried to call before arrival so we weren't aware of this fact. All would have been ok if we could have prepared for this. Website obviously needs to be updated!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/10/2019

    2 day stay

    Always a pleasant and clean place to camp.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/01/2019

    Great experience

    I drove up to Roy Lake with my kayaking group last weekend. Campsites were nice and comfort stations/campground was very clean. I loved the variety of small lakes and enjoyed kayaking and camping at the park. I have never been to this area of South Dakota and was surprised at how beautiful it is and the history of theI am sure I will be back!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/29/2019

    Beautiful

    This is our favorite park and favorite campground hosts of all. So clean and most beautiful views. The campground hosts are the “best”. We are anxious to see the building and completion of the new dump station. Too far to far to the East side through all the cabins to dump.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/17/2019

    Hidden Gem

    We went here for a weekend fishing trip and were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the park and best bathroom/showers we've ever seen at a campground. If you come here to fish, you will also be amazed by the fish cleaning station....never have seen something like that before! It was great!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/16/2019

    Signage needed

    Directions to the east campground (Roy Lake State Park #2) were lacking. Three separate parties in our group all were directed via google maps to the west campground when coming from the East on Hwy 10 from Sisseton. Would be nice to have a sign on 10 to turn south on 25 then a sign to turn west on North Side Drive to get there instead of being directed to the West campground entrance, especially when arriving in the dark! Bathrooms are very nice but the shower handle is tricky to figure out how it works. Good hot water once you figure it out, never did figure out how to get the hand wand to work though. This was just an overnight stop for us but would stop here again, nice park.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/15/2019

    lights out

    We camped here recently during the middle of the week. We almost had the whole place to ourselves which was nice in way, but there was not even a camp host there. Hopefully that isn't typical. The spots are good size and the grounds are clean and well kept. The positives for the showers are that they are nice and clean with good water pressure. The negatives are that when there is not a lot of demand for hot water (as when we were there), there isn't a lot on hand so we had cold showers one night. Also, beware that the lights in the bathrooms are all automatic and if you don't have enough movement in the right area they will turn off. It happened at 11pm one night while showering and it was pitch black. They didn't turn on until walking to the switch. It happened the next night again but it was only 8pm so still light coming in the sky lights and not as scary. Keep your phone close by for a flashlight.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/14/2019

    Weekend Camping @ Roy Lake

    Had a great weekend stay at Roy Lake. Despite wet weather, we enjoyed the campground and the lake. Facilities were clean. Staff at the Park Resort weren't very friendly or helpful when we stopped in to buy coffee. That was the only thing that wasn't top-notch.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/01/2019

    Family Favorite

    Roy Lake has become our family must do trip every year. Lake is clean and clear. Disc golf course is fun. Sites are clean and quiet. Facilities are clean!!! The hiking trail on the island is a fun little adventure for young onea.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/01/2019

    Lake day

    We didn’t realize that there was only one dump station which was on the opposite side of the lake. Would be nice to have two dump stations.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top