• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    08/16/2018

    Homey place away from home

    A friend and I tent camped here for two nights. The people (workers and other visitors) were friendly and the whole place had a cozy, comfortable feel. We brought kayaks along (the park is kayak friendly, but they don't rent them out) and took them for a spin on the river that runs through the park. The part of the river accessible to us while we kayaked wasn't that big (rapids on each end of the river), but it was good enough for a leisurely paddle around. We probably could've made it down the rapids if we wanted to; I'm not sure we'd have been able to get back up them though. Also, we maybe didn't put in at the best place. There wasn't a sign and no one told us when we checked in (we didn't ask either though). There is running water and showers in the bathroom, plus hydrants for water and garbage/recycling around the camp sites. Just a few miles away in Garretson, SD is Devil's Gulch Park (known for Jesse James jumping over the canyon to escape the law after his last heist). Neat place to hike and see the canyon, is free, and has just a hint of danger about it. I highly recommend visiting it if you have time!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/16/2018

    Palisades for meteors

    This park is very clean and the staff was very helpful. We saw three members of the staff within our first 30 minutes camping in the park. The water fountains are nice and the trails are well kept. The king and queen trail is a must see. The trashcans are pretty sparse in the park, so be sure to bring a large trash bag with you. We found there to be very few bugs when compared to many other campsites we've visited. Beware of cranes.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/12/2018

    Family reunion

    This is about the 4th or 5th time we have stayed at the Lodge. We love the facility for hosting a reunion. It is convenient,clean, friendly and knowledgeable staff and overlooks the beautiful Palisades Park. You can easily get on the trails from the back of the house. The garage is great for hosting a large amount of day guests. They provide several large tables and folding chairs, plus several other picnic tables outside. Improvements we would suggest is new mattress. All 11 guests said their mattress was very hard. Also, even though it is air conditioned, the upstairs is still quite warm and the basement is freezing.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/10/2018

    Cabin camping

    The cabin was great, but A little bit small. The table inside was for only 2. The weather was great for our visit so eating outside was fine. The trails were fun even for our 6y.o. not too long, not too short. The staff was helpful with picking out a good fishing spot. Saw fish jumping right out of the water!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/06/2018

    visit

    Only stayed one night. Had a road side campsite that we shared with two other campers. They kind of took over the whole area.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/31/2018

    Super host

    We just spent 5 nights at the Palisades and had a wonderful time...tge campground host is super attentive and friendly. Beautiful creek for kayaking.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/31/2018

    Perfect camping

    My husband and I stayed in one of the lovely cabins at Palisade Park the last weekend in July. Th weather was perfect and the other campers very friendly and the rangers were super. I would recommend a family outing or a couples retreat at this little piece of Heaven in South Dakota!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/30/2018

    Fun at Palisades

    What a Beautiful Park! Also many thanks to Alice maintenance helper at the park who helped us when our truck broke down.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/30/2018

    What a Weekend

    This campground is top notch. The campsites are always neat and tidy and the facilities clean. The campground staff are wonderful!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/26/2018

    Cabin rental

    Everything was ready when we arrived. Our cabin and deck faced into a nicely wooded area with Split Rock Creek down below. Very nice, shady and private. We have stated at the park in various cabins over the past few years and all were terrific.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top