• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    02/09/2020

    family Christmas

    No instructions where to pick up the key. I called 800#. They told me key would be on the table. Loadge was locked. I had to stop at staff building and ask them how to get the key. Stairway to the upstairs was very slippery in socks. Need to have grabber pads on each step. We had several slips and light injury. Patio and walk to it was not scooped of snow very well. I had to do it so we could take pictures outside. Heat vents were all closed in basement and upstairs. Had to search and open them all. These things could have all been done the morning before check in. Also, no reason check in couldn't be 11 a.m. if check out is 11 a.m. That's 5 hours of the first day we are shorted. You dictate a 2 day stay. We should get 2 days. The beds were very hard too.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/10/2019

    Cozy cabins

    We stayed in one of the cabins as I am still recovering from a broken ankle and getting in and out of a tent would be difficult. The cabin was wonderful for the price: heat/AC, bed, table to play games on in the evening. The door and porch faced away from the road so we had privacy while cooking our dinner. Comfort station was clean (and there was hot water and enough water pressure to wash my hair!).
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/04/2019

    Palisades State Park - Review

    Great campground. Can accommodate some larger rigs. Ours is a 42' fifth wheel. If you take the lower loop, there are 2 bridges that must be crossed. The bridges are load limited. We were able to cross with a 8800# truck and 24,000# Rig. If you are traveling with a Class A, verify before you pull into the lower campground. There is also a steep hill and sharp turn to get out of this loop. Going up the steep hill, we were near dragging bottom. Coming around the sharp turn, take a very wide swing. We missed the tree by inches. If you are not skilled, you may want to avoid this campground for now. As we were told, in the next year (late 2020 or 2021), the campground is expanding and the new upper loop will be much easier to navigate. The bathhouses are relatively new (at least close to updated). They were very, very clean. There is a community water to fill up a rig. There is no water on the RV site. There is a dump station. No sewer on site. We did have a 50A space. In October, the park is very quiet. There were only about 5 RV's in the park. The campground host was on site. We never saw them or needed them. They were on the back of the back loop. The river was low in October. It was easy to see where there had been previous flooding. Be aware if you park on the lower loop. As for the road outside the park, it is in terrible condition. You will take a beating. If you need propane or food stock, there is the very small town of Garretson about 8 minutes away. If you need Walmart, go to Sioux Falls about 30 minutes away. Nearby attraction is the Jesse and James Hideout Cave in Devils Gulch Park (Garretson, SD).
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/30/2019

    Secluded

    Each site only has a couple close to it so can have a small group and be very secluded from other people if you want to.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/28/2019

    Can't wait until next time

    This is a very hard park to get into because it is a smaller campground. But it is worth the wait. Lots to do and see within just a few miles. We will most definitely be coming again, next year hopefully. Facilities were nice and clean, sites are large compared to a lot of other state parks. 3 days just isn't enough time to enjoy everything the area has to offer.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/28/2019

    an outdoor jem

    I'm regularly shocked that more people in Omaha don't know about, talk about and visit Palisades State Park in Garretson, SD. Folks here are interested in beautiful nature and being outdoors and regularly travel to places like Okaboji. Palisades is only a 3 hour drive from Omaha and worth every minute. It's unique, fun and makes for a great adventure. It's a perfect place to hike, camp and hang out in nature.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/20/2019

    Fab getaway

    Cabins have heat/air, table inside & sleep 4. Fire pits outside with grill. the mattresses are comfy,but you must bring linens and towels. Cabins are all fairly close to toilets. Not allowed to bring your own firewood, but the park happened to be out of firewood during our visit. Places in town sell firewood. Palisades mini mart in Garretson serves breakfast 7 days a week, but went to O So Good for supper and music. Excellent place to eat--they have beer & wine and amazing coffee, too, as well as dessert. The park has beautiful hiking and views, great for floating down the river in the summer. Picnic area & showers available. Thrift store in town is excellent, as well a fantastic grocery store. Plan to try Jesse James pontoon rides!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/15/2019

    winter tent camping

    Small youth group had a great time would have been nice if they would have let us move into the regular camping area where it wasn't quite as windy since we were so small. Otherwise we had a great time, the hiking trails are awesomw may have to come back in the warm weather to see more of the trail.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/12/2019

    An experience

    Stayed 3 nights at park on route to Custer State Park. Have visited Badlands before, but never camped there. We are retired and have been traveling several months a year nationwide. Was a little surprised "pull through" meant camping on road, with campers heading both directions as road signs were confusing. Was pleasantly surprised to have a nice grassy common area where tables were set up for each site. Toilets and showers were OK, but not great. Had to pay for shower water. Did have potable water close by and that was nice. Scenery was beautiful. Dump station reasonably close as well. I'd go back even though I'm not fond of setting up "on the road". Price was right and a lot to see and love around there!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/12/2019

    shelter rental

    We rented out the day use area/shelter for a BBQ. Its a lovely park, plenty of space and low priced.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top