• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    11/07/2020

    bob

    Clean nice place
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/03/2020

    Love SD State Parks

    We made late October 2020 reservations. The early snow caused some concerns! The SD GFP help email provided excellent information on water/bathroom station availability, and answered a couple of other questions we had in regard to summer camping season and reservations. The State campgrounds we have visited have always been clean, well run by the hosts, and well maintained by park employees. The past few summers we have utilized parks across SD, and have had great experiences at all of them! Thank you SD on keeping our parks family oriented and enjoyable!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/01/2020

    Wished for more time

    My wife and I could only spend one night there. We had rented cabin for one night only since we only had a few days to spend in South Dakota. We arrived late in the afternoon. The setting was beautiful-overlooking the Missouri River. The facilities were clean. I wish that the bathrooms were bigger-more than one toilet/shower since we were essentially camping. The cabin could have used another heater like they do at Custer State Park.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/26/2020

    October 2020 visit

    I arrived late and after dark, but the signage was adequate to find the campground, although there isn't any street lighting. The campground and amenities were all as advertised. The space was easy to back into with my 32' gooseneck camping trailer. The electrical connection was good and the bathhouses were in good condition. At this time of year you may not find personnel at the welcome center, but I'd contacted Eric prior to my visit and was able to get my other needs from him. He's very helpful and friendly. The park team was available if needed and seen in the park during the day. The fresh water station and RV dumps are very close and well laid out. I wasn't around the campground much during the day and didn't see how often the bathhouses were maintained. With these Covid pandemic times that would be my only question, but I found the units clean. I felt safe during my stay even with the weather changing from good to snow, wind and sleet. Prepare for wind when you in the Ft. Pierre area. There are many opportunities immediately available for walking and activity. I'm happy to recommend this campground and park and look forward to returning.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/21/2020

    great

    Clean cabin, beautiful views, quiet nights, and everything we needed to get away from the world for a few days. Highly recommend!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/18/2020

    Fun to explore

    First visit. You can bike, canoe, fish, shoot your guns at the nearby shooting range (for free). Enjoy campfires while retreating to the cabin during the wind. Beautiful tall trees surround the cabins also.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/17/2020

    October Gold

    This was a lovely uncrowded campground in mid-October. Cottonwood trees were gorgeous. Nice to be out of the SD wind for the night. We did wonder about the loud "alarm sound" coming from the vicinity of the power plant/dam though. Heard it several times in the evening, and again early the next morning. Still wondering what that was, but apparently the dam is still standing ..... We had our own trailer and did not use the facilities there so can't really comment on cleanliness.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/11/2020

    Always enjoyable!

    We continue to come back every year! The quiet setting along the river is great, the cabins are always clean and comfortable. We had just stayed in September and were back in October. The keyless system is a great upgrade!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/08/2020

    windy and cool

    We have camped in Oahe Downstream three times. We love the widely spaced sites. The view of the water and possibility of shore fishing. We enjoyed our time and ability to get together with family. We expect to come again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/06/2020

    Recreation

    Great place to stay with multiple recreation options close to camp. Will be coming here again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top