• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Good stay

    Nice park. Good Service and facilities. Nice hiking trailss. Next time will stay a little farther into the camp what is on the road. Was a little noisy with big trucks.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    River Fest

    We have been coming to the Sioux River Folk Fest since the 1970s. It is a family tradition that started with our kids and now our grandkids, and their friends. We were able to camp on four sites. There were 40 of us in all with about half being kids under 7. We had a great time and will continue to camp during the Festival as long as we are able.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    A summer highlight

    Once again we were delighted with our spot at Newton Hills. Each year I have a new favorite. This year was perfect for our 4 legged friend as well as ourselves. The storms each night had us doing contingency plans but they were not needed. We loved the new options of renting kayaks. Newton Hills is a little piece of heaven 35 minutes from Sioux Falls.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Oasis wonderland

    We were on our way home from a very long trip north and couldn't stand another night in a hotel. We discovered on line that Newton State Park was nearby and had cabins. We were lucky to find one available since it was a Sunday night. The cabin was adorable, clean, and air conditioned! The bathroom/shower was large, clean, & close by. We took a drive through the park and it was breathtakingly beautiful. The next morning we hiked and enjoyed the bridges. It was a calm and peaceful oasis.?
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    camping with the grandkids

    This is second year camping at this facility. everything was/is maintained for optimum enjoyment. Vaults are clean and have hand sanitizer dispensers. Showers rooms are a definite plus. The trails are well maintained and the bike and surrey rentals are reasonable priced as is the canoe and kayak rentals. we reserve a tent site and the garbage is checked twice a day.. Lake Lakota has nice swimming area but is a half mile from the campground. I travel from Chicago area and my son and granddaughters live in Iowa. I highly recommend this campground if you have children or if you just want to get away for a few days. Tent sites are large and well shaded and water is available at each campground cluster. There are 5 tent sites per cluster and I believe there are 3 tent only clusters.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    The Great Outdoors

    At times the park can be quite “buggy” as in knats n mosquitos. Was pleasantly surprised this trip it was really nice! Pretty much bug free. That always makes for a nice weekend. Spots are roomy, we watched the nature video which was fun. Enjoyed some popcorn and a nice fire. Bathrooms were clean and fully functional. So much to do in Newton Hills so plan a trip.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Beautiful getaway!

    This was a beautiful and well maintained campground! The facilities were in clean condition which was great. There were many paved trails for biking and off the beaten path walking trails that we enjoyed as a family. Would definitely recommend this place for a quiet and peaceful getaway. With the limited to no cell service there was less chance of distractions with technology!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Peppermint Patty

    The trail were well marked & well maintained. There were many tall & beautiful trees in the park. The 6 miles of trail were easy but this park could use a few more miles. When we arrived on Thursday, the wheelbarrow with loaded manure, was still in our designated corral. A picture, taken by a friend on Sunday, showed the same loaded wheelbarrow. The electric socket was burnt in the electric box. It was replaced the next day but required us to move to a different camp spot. Camp personnel were helpful & friendly.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Quality site

    I brought our Church's youth group to the site at the bottom of the hill (shelter #5 if I remember right). It was an awesome site to work with and the kids had a great time. It was fairly inexpensive to get everyone in (20 to reserve the spot, 20 for 2 vehicles, 10 bucks for 2 bundles of firewood). The big downside was that the staff seemed pretty clueless about which site I had reserved. When I called in to the ranger's office, the guy who answered had no idea if the site had a fire pit (luckily it did). Overall, an awesome place unlike anything else in the area.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/15/2018

    Cabin Camping

    Newton Hills has great trails to go on but the lake is contaminated, there is foam at the shoreline which means bacteria. If you stay in cabin #2 remember that the double bed mattress is shot and the Air conditioner leaks.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top