• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    07/15/2018

    how it was for us @ Newton Hills

    We have a family campout once each year with the parents and four grown children plus friends and offspring. Everyone was delighted with Newton Hills park. We especially liked kayaking at Lake Lakota, the hiking only trail, and the scenic drive through the picnicking area. We stayed in cabins 5 and 6 which are set off from the main part of the campground. When we checked out the park ranger told us that cabins 3 and 4 are even more secluded and quite scenic so will try them next time. The weather was hot and there were flies and mosquitoes, not the fault of the park at all. Everyone would come again and we plan to visit in the fall to see the colored leaves if even only for a drive through. Highly recommend this park to anyone.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/12/2018

    Cabin 4

    My husband and I recently rented Cabin 4 for a couple of days! I absolutely loved it! It was away from everyone else and I felt as though we were the only cabin. The air conditioner was a little iffy - but what do you expect! Wonderful and clean park!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/05/2018

    Great Experience

    Love that this campground is nice and close to Sioux Falls. It was fun and friendly with lots of activities to do. We have visited Newton Hills a few times in the winter to go hiking, this was our first time camping and I can't wait to go again!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/03/2018

    Great park!

    The park was clean and quiet. The facilities were modern and clean. Can’t wait to visit again!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/30/2018

    Time to do some cleaning up

    I have been using the horse camp for the past 5-6 years.. sorry to say the last visit was a huge disappointment. The mowing wasn’t as nice as usual.. narrower walk through areas to get horses to their pens. Picnic tables were very dirty. Bits of people trash in the fire pit and around the site. Branches hanging down so low..I did some tree trimming.. the bathrooms were icky as usual... and a big muddy mess around the pump area. Yuck. Now for the worst.... my horses pen was filthy! Old ground in straw..saturated with urine .. half the pen was covered with horse manure from the previous camper.. it was disgusting.. I didn’t even want to put my horse in it! . I’d say it’s high time to give the horse camp a facelift... have each campsite and pen checked after every camper.. even if it means a park person cleaning for the next camper.. come on! I was in site 126 on June 8&9
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/28/2018

    Beautiful but Busy

    Being only 40 minutes away from the biggest town in South Dakota means you join 1000 adults, their 3000 kids, plus 100 dogs on your weekend "getaway". Nights, however, were very quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff and hosts.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/28/2018

    Wonderful Stay

    My family had a wonderful stay at the lodge. Great facilities. Staff was beyond friendly and helpful. Trails were well managed. Lake Lakota was very scenic. Our visit far exceeded our expectations and I've already recommended the lodge to others.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/21/2018

    Lake Lakota picnic shelter

    Great location of picnic shelter on Lake Lakota. I had called after reserving online to ask if there was electricity at the shelter, the employee I talked to asked someone in the office and they said there was electricity. If there is an electrical box, I and many others did not find it. Very disappointed, I had planned a grill based on the employees statement. Also, they said that I could not reserve kayaks online or over the phone. I got to the check-in station at 8:15 am and all the kayaks were already reserved. That is very frustrating because I already paid to reserve the picnic shelter, but couldn't plan on reserving the water crafts. I later went back at 11:00 am and was able to rent two kayaks. I also rented the Lilly Pad all day, that was awesome and well loved by all adults and kids.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/19/2018

    Wonderful Hiking

    My favorite place to hike in SD other than the Black Hills. Very scenic and natural.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/18/2018

    Nice Park

    Newton Hills is a very well kept camp ground. Have been coming here for years and never had any problems. The only thing bad is there is no cell phone service worth a darn!!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top