• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/07/2018

    Great Time

    Everyone was so helpful and made our family feel right at home.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/22/2018

    LOVE at first hike!

    We had so much fun hiking, renting banana peel bikes, borrowed some bean bag boards, enjoyed the parks and a Friday night movie in the Amphitheater. We will be back!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/21/2018

    Week long fun.

    We come down every year for a whole week during the Folk Fest and it is always fun. This year the weather was extremely beautiful for the first 4 days. Warm but not humid days, nice cool nights by the fire and even the nights it rained, we enjoyed it. The campsites are always nice and clean, same with the restrooms, and the bugs this year were hardly even noticeable. I love camping at Newton Hills and wish I had the time to camp there more than just the one time every year. Keep on camping.....
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/21/2018

    Not impressed

    We actually enjoyed our stay there until the last night, my husband was sitting outside quietly watching tv, not doing anything wrong, and got chewed out by a rent a cop saying he had to shut his tv and go inside. The security guard had no other explanation on why other than “he needed to go inside.” Meanwhile the campsite 3 over from us was being so loud that we could hear their conversations word for word. And nothing was done. And no we hadn’t complained, we had minded our own business because that’s what camping is about...fun! My husband felt he was singled out for no reason and We will never go back.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com



    Management Response

    Thank you for your comments. We use these comments to better serve the people that use and visit the state parks in South Dakota. In the parks there is a rule of 11 pm quiet hours. While we encourage our guests to stay up as late as they wish around the fire and have a good time and socialize but after 11 pm noise should stay in or near your campsite. This usually means radios and tv’s outside of the camper are asked to be turned off. These rules are in place to ensure that everyone has a great time in the parks.
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/21/2018

    Camper

    Was good had family together
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Great experience

    Newton Hills State Park Campground is wonderful! It's clean, and well kept. Comfort station #2 has a quirky shower. -Both Men's & Women's. But I'm confident by next year it will be better. It will lose some pressure and turn ice cold. After pressure returns, it stays cold for a while and then goes back to normal temp. A few minutes later, the pressure will go down again and run ice cold,repeating the cold-normal cycle. If you know it's coming, you can step out of the way.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Good stay

    Nice park. Good Service and facilities. Nice hiking trailss. Next time will stay a little farther into the camp what is on the road. Was a little noisy with big trucks.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    River Fest

    We have been coming to the Sioux River Folk Fest since the 1970s. It is a family tradition that started with our kids and now our grandkids, and their friends. We were able to camp on four sites. There were 40 of us in all with about half being kids under 7. We had a great time and will continue to camp during the Festival as long as we are able.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    A summer highlight

    Once again we were delighted with our spot at Newton Hills. Each year I have a new favorite. This year was perfect for our 4 legged friend as well as ourselves. The storms each night had us doing contingency plans but they were not needed. We loved the new options of renting kayaks. Newton Hills is a little piece of heaven 35 minutes from Sioux Falls.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Oasis wonderland

    We were on our way home from a very long trip north and couldn't stand another night in a hotel. We discovered on line that Newton State Park was nearby and had cabins. We were lucky to find one available since it was a Sunday night. The cabin was adorable, clean, and air conditioned! The bathroom/shower was large, clean, & close by. We took a drive through the park and it was breathtakingly beautiful. The next morning we hiked and enjoyed the bridges. It was a calm and peaceful oasis.?
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top