• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/25/2018

    bad

    It was right around 11pm on the first night and we had a park ranger come tell us we had to be quite, all we were doing was sitting there by the fire talking, he walked back by and said to us girls you need to keep it down its quite time. Then the second night we got told to keep it down again so we just went inside at that point. I paid to camp here and I understand you have a quite time but for real 11pm. They play the same old magic school bus movies, I think they could get something better, I get you want them to be educational but I think every once and awhile you can splurge and pick a up to date move. The only thing that was cool about Newton Hills is the bikes you can rent my kids love them, I think you should be able to rent them a little longer. I am still not sure if I will come back! Ps the last time I camped here it was not like this so I don't know if the rules have changed.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/19/2018

    August visit

    We had a great visit. As I was attending a convention in Sioux Falls, my husband and granddaughter were hitting the trails. Easy to follow trail map. My only complaint would be not enough trail miles. We will likely stop again when travelling to trails even further from home. Will be a great spot to rest, relax, get an easy ride in and then travel on.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/18/2018

    Labor Day 18

    The park was terrific!! There was something for everyone, tons of activities. The trails were great, even for someone out of shape like me. The views were great. Definitely going to go back!!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/18/2018

    Great place just not service

    We love this campground and will always return however we didn't have the best welcome when we arrived. The lady was rude and I have never experienced this before down there. She was an older lady and just didn't seem like she was very happy to be there. Sad
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/07/2018

    Great Time

    Everyone was so helpful and made our family feel right at home.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/22/2018

    LOVE at first hike!

    We had so much fun hiking, renting banana peel bikes, borrowed some bean bag boards, enjoyed the parks and a Friday night movie in the Amphitheater. We will be back!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/21/2018

    Week long fun.

    We come down every year for a whole week during the Folk Fest and it is always fun. This year the weather was extremely beautiful for the first 4 days. Warm but not humid days, nice cool nights by the fire and even the nights it rained, we enjoyed it. The campsites are always nice and clean, same with the restrooms, and the bugs this year were hardly even noticeable. I love camping at Newton Hills and wish I had the time to camp there more than just the one time every year. Keep on camping.....
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/21/2018

    Not impressed

    We actually enjoyed our stay there until the last night, my husband was sitting outside quietly watching tv, not doing anything wrong, and got chewed out by a rent a cop saying he had to shut his tv and go inside. The security guard had no other explanation on why other than “he needed to go inside.” Meanwhile the campsite 3 over from us was being so loud that we could hear their conversations word for word. And nothing was done. And no we hadn’t complained, we had minded our own business because that’s what camping is about...fun! My husband felt he was singled out for no reason and We will never go back.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com



    Management Response

    Thank you for your comments. We use these comments to better serve the people that use and visit the state parks in South Dakota. In the parks there is a rule of 11 pm quiet hours. While we encourage our guests to stay up as late as they wish around the fire and have a good time and socialize but after 11 pm noise should stay in or near your campsite. This usually means radios and tv’s outside of the camper are asked to be turned off. These rules are in place to ensure that everyone has a great time in the parks.
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/21/2018

    Camper

    Was good had family together
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Great experience

    Newton Hills State Park Campground is wonderful! It's clean, and well kept. Comfort station #2 has a quirky shower. -Both Men's & Women's. But I'm confident by next year it will be better. It will lose some pressure and turn ice cold. After pressure returns, it stays cold for a while and then goes back to normal temp. A few minutes later, the pressure will go down again and run ice cold,repeating the cold-normal cycle. If you know it's coming, you can step out of the way.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top