• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    01/04/2021

    comfortable cabin stay in nature's lap

    We stayed in cabin C at Gavin campground for 2 nights. We wanted to spent new year somewhere in seclusion, so booked the cabin online. Check-in time starts at 4 PM, we were contacted by the staff a day before with the instructions of key location and other information. Park's welcome center was closed due to new year, key was kept inside an envelope placed in a box outside the center. Cabin was well heated and was equipped with bunk beds, table, desks, seats and sofa. Views were awesome with cabin facing the lake which was frozen and surrounding was covered with ice. There were seats, table and grills outside the cabin. Most of the things were closed for the season including toilets that was the biggest issue. There was no facility for bath or hot water so make sure to bring plenty of water. Portable toilets were available in the park which were quiet manageable. Firewood area in the park was also closed for the season, so we had to buy it from the gas station. There was no crew available in the park during our stay and welcome center remained closed. bring your blankets and cover sheets as only bedding is provided. Overall location and view are beautiful and cabins are well maintained. Definitely would come again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/10/2020

    Great park, great people

    Absolutely love coming here. Park is immaculately clean and the staff are super friendly. Camp sites are BIG, tou never feel cramped even when the park is full. Can't say enough good things here. We've been back three times from our initial visit over labor day weekend. Don't hesitate to make a reservation and have a wonderful trip.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/10/2020

    Greatest view on the Missouri River!

    A wonderful place to visit! Best for retirees in the Fall, just wish the State of South Dakota was like neighboring States that offer Senior rates they would have more campers! We were one of two campers good for us! The Missouri River is the masterpiece, blessed to have it run all through our state. And Campgrounds line the river with beauty year round! Great State
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/21/2020

    Lewis & Clark Rocks

    I believe this wraps up our 23rd year of camping at Lewis & Clark. We raised our kids on those trails and on the lake. Best camping around. Looking forward to the next 23 years.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/21/2020

    Great Park

    We had a lake front campsite. The lake is big and beautiful. The campsite was clean and well maintained. The office staff was very helpful and informative. It was a great experience, and would love to return and camp there again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/20/2020

    Campsite 217

    The fall weather was gorgeous so we were excited to finally get a spot by the water. Beware, campsite 217 has high and low spots on it. Our auto-leveling 5th wheel struggled the entire weekend. We will be back to Yankton to camp, however, we didn't enjoy the weekend like we wanted to.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/20/2020

    Quick weekend away

    We booked this campground on a wim and almost at the last minute(1.5 weeks before travel) we went the 3rd weekend in october(15-19, 2020) the weather was colder around the mid to low 50s and around 30s at night, the only bad part was how strong the wind was. We did have a pop-up camper but if we were in a tent it would of been cold. We have already started planning our next trip, we were in site 124(see the water from our site??. The staff were great and very knowledgeable. My only bad review on this great campground is the other drivers who would not obey the speed limit(10 mph) I wouldn't even care if they went 20 but 25-30 with kids around is not ok this is not a normal public road its a campground road. The campground was pretty empty for the weekend we were there so I am not sure on noise if it was full. Great location, great paved bike travel, hiking the bluffs, close to the water and the boat launch.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/20/2020

    Great respite

    We love coming to LCRA, the RV spots are level and well laid out. It is wonderful to walk or ride bikes on the paved trails along the lake. Great benches to sit and enjoy. Nice sandy beach areas for enjoying the water.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/19/2020

    great park!

    We took the kids to stay in one of their camping cabins for a couple nights. It was great! As it's getting a little later in the year and the temps are dropping, setting up a tent in the cold gets less appealing. A small heated cabin is the perfect solution when you still want a semi-roughing it type trip! It also lets you spend more time exploring and playing, and less time setting up and tearing down your living quarters!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/18/2020

    Paddlefishing trip

    Stayed in a cabin at Gavins Trail. Clean in great location. Only wish fish cleaning stations would have been open. Can’t wait to come back.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top