• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    05/22/2020

    Great experience

    Very impressed with cleanliness of facilities and size of sites. Sites were well laid out and we were blessed with great weather. Nice playground for kids. We did not visit Beach area. Did go on a short hike that was nice. Made the 1 1/2 hour trip to Fort Sisseton and that was cool to see even though we could not enter buildings the day we were there. Will visit Hartford Beach again if in the area.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/21/2020

    Would Stay Again!

    We came to South Dakota because Minnesota and Wisconsin campgrounds and forests were closed due to COVID-19 and no camping or campfires were allowed! Hartford beach was very clean and well-maintained. The Pit Toilet near our campsite was a bit messy after the weekend was full of campers, just a general sweep would be good early Sunday morning. When leaving on Monday mid-day, we did see a clean up crew come through. We stayed in campsite 27, which we found was at a sloped angle and not quite fit for a large tent, but had a direct view of the lake and an extra campfire ring right by the lake. No beach, rocky edges, but a descent fishing spot and place to watch a nice sunrise (faces east)! The spot may be a bit more windy than the others as well since there are no trees blocking the lake. The boat launch wasn't too steep and the bait shop was super close! Bring your own bucket to the bait shop and check for dead worms before you buy a dozen and 5 are dead already, however. The hiking trails also were very nice, but I think the trails should also have a map available at the entrance or somewhere aong the trail. We thought one trail may have looped around and ended up finding a secluded bench right by the lake, which was nice but we didn't expect the trail to end and had to double-back the exact way we came. I also wish there were more trails available. All in all, I would 100% visit again and try out some of the other camp sites!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/20/2020

    Cabin

    Cabin was very clean, spacious, wonderful view. Enjoyed sitting on the deck, taking in the lake view, listening to the birds. Peaceful. Cabin is a short hike from the parking pad. Nice long parking pad. Pit toilet close by, clean, well stocked. Campground overall in good shape. Family oriented with playground, walking trails, beach, frisbee golf. Overall experience very positive.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/19/2020

    Nice Stay

    Overall a very nice campground. They sites near the lake are a bit smaller, bringing in a monster camper could be difficult. We have a 19’ toyhauler and didn’t have any problems fitting in. If you have something over 30 consider the upper campground it’s also very nice.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/19/2020

    Review

    The only negative thing about our camping trip is that we had no idea that 04E West campsite was not for tents. It was on a hill so there was no flat land for a tent.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/19/2020

    !st trip of the season

    This was our first trip to Heartford and it quickly became one of our new favorites!Clean,spacious,good fishing! love this place!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/19/2020

    beautiful park

    We went for the weekend 5/14-5/17/20, this was a last minute reservation due to the goofy MN governor shutting down camping. Hartford Beach was a very pleasant surprise, beautiful campground, facilities were nice an clean, nice trails and access to the lake. We only had 2 minor issues: 1. firewood was empty when we got there on Thursday night and it seemed a bit damp once it was filled. Other campers we talked to said it was also damp and a bit of a challenge to get started and keep burning. 2. the site we had (17E west campground) was cramped due to a very large rock in the middle of the site where you would normally setup your chairs and tables. This really limited space right outside the camper and move around the site comfortably. Unfortunately there wasn't enough room to move our camper around to work around the rock and the rest of the site was at an angle that chairs would have been very uncomfortable if not impossible. Again those are just minor issues, we made the rock thing work and it did not keep us from really enjoying the weekend. One other issue was on Saturday night around 11:30pm, a family pulled in and was very noisy setting up their tent, blowing up air mattresses and whatnot until well after 1am. They also started playing loud music the following morning. The sites around these people were all very upset, I brought it up to the ranger riding around later that morning and he apologized but didn't seem too concerned about the issue. We were checking out that day so i left it alone. At any rate, it was a beautiful campground and we do plan on going back later this year. Would be a great spot for a fishing/camping trip as they have a beautiful park and boat landing.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/19/2020

    Enjoyed our brief stay

    Nice place to camp. Looks like a good camping spot for multiple days...we stayed only one night.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/19/2020

    Nice campground

    Overall a very good experience with clean facilities and a great View from our camp spot. My biggest complaint would be the fact that we had a group of nine people and three vehicles setting up their tent at 2 in the morning in the spot directly across from us making much noise. It's just like when we notified Park staff of this they didn't seem to care too much.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/17/2020

    Wonderful time.

    Very clean and vault toilets very well sanitized. Campsites very impressive
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top