• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    10/11/2019

    Thanks

    As always the cabin was clean and ready upon arrival. Staff was very helpful and courteous.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/10/2019

    Awesome

    We have camped together with our family over Labor Day Weekend for the past 4 years! Our kids love it and look forward to this annual event!! We love it at Hartford!! The camp hosts are super friendly! Loved the cooking demonstration they had this year!! We loved it and got great recipes for our Dutch Oven!! We will be back!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/10/2019

    what a nice place

    Hartford Beach is one of our favorite spots to stay. Large sites, quiet and well maintained. We really enjoy the hospitality of the hosts and staff.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/10/2019

    Cabin

    Beautiful fall colors and great fishing. Would like to see a cabin built on the lower camp ground in the future.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/04/2019

    Surprised at added costs and reservation fee

    We stayed at Hartford Beach Oct. 1. Reason for choosing campground is that I was under the impression that the cost was $21, compared to $31 across the lake in MN. We have yearly permits for both states as we visited the Black Hills in August. The previous night we stayed in Iowa for $16 (after Oct. 1 - only $11) and fllled out a form and put the money in a lock box at the gate. I was surprised to find on arriving at Hartford that I had to call or go online to "reserve" a spot when we just wanted to stay one night at a nearly empty park. Then more surprise to find the $7.70 out of state fee and a $2 fee to "reserve." Why should a reservation fee be charged when arriving at a park for a night without a reservation? The $7.70 fee sounds like the state is just discouraging tourists. Needless to say we shall not be staying at a SD campground again. The total cost was $31.97 for one night which for us as Canadians was nearly $44 in our dollars. On a positive note the restroom/shower building was fairly new and spotlessly clean.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/24/2019

    Awesome experience

    My husband and I were pleasantly surprised and very happy with our first camping experience at Hartford Beach State Park. We stayed in one of your cabins and found the accommodations to be clean, cozy and comfy. The bathhouses were the cleanest I’ve ever seen at a campground. We will definitely be back.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/22/2019

    Pleasant Camping experience

    Very nice campsites. The facilities were very clean and kept up well. The park staff was really nice and visible so you could talk to them if you needed to. We will be back.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/17/2019

    We Enjoyed, but...

    We love Hartford, pretty, clean, quiet, multiple trails and more. Unfortunately, we camped here in August 2019 and again Sept 2019, both times the wood you have to purchase for $5 a bundle was wet from rain. It'd be nice if they covered the wood with tarp or something, because $5 for wet wood that doesn't burn is a bit ridiculous. Paying for the reservation and parking is one thing, but how can you charge $5 a bundle for wet wood? Both camping trips felt like a ripoff without a bonfire and wasted money on wet wood. Thankfully it wasn't too cold at night.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/16/2019

    Excellent stay

    Clean facilities. Friendly staff. Easy to check in, found spot, set up, and enjoyed our time there. Great trails, nice swim beach (although lots of rain lately meant it was mostly underwater).
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/09/2019

    Beautiful, modern, spacious camper cabin

    We came to Hartford Beach State Park because of the availability of the camper cabin, which sleeps five, for a counsin's weekend. The cabin was very modern with beautiful wood interior. It had three very comfortable twin sized and one full size bunk beds. It had A/C, which included a fan only option, as well as heat. There was a nice sized table to eat or play games at as well as a cabinet with counter space that could be used for storage or food prep area. There was a nice deck on the front of the cabin as well as a picnic table and nice fire pit. The view of the lake and trees from the deck was beautiful as well. A latrine, which included hand sanitizer, was nearby, and the full bath with showers was within short walking distance. It rained the weekend we were there but it looked like the trails would have been nice to hike on. The road through the campground was paved and nice for the kids to ride bike on. It was very quiet and peaceful, had nice large campsites, and was very nice and clean. If you don't like to "rough it" when you go camping, this is the place. I wish I lived closer.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 9
    Back to top