• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Loved it!

    We planned our trip to South Dakota very quickly. We weren't sure where we were going to stay or anything about South Dakota camping. We had such a wonderful time in Custer Park that we have discussed going back again another time and staying at our same camp ground. The facilities were clean and the camping spots were well maintained. We also loved how close we were to everything. We were able to visit Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, The Cosmos, and many others. We will definitely visit again!!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Amazing experience!

    Before visiting South Dakota our kids were primarily interested in Mt. Rushmore. We were caught off-guard by the beauty and expansiveness of Custer State Park. We could have spent much longer just visiting various areas within the park. On our trip we also really enjoyed using Custer State Park as a home base for exploring not only Mt. Rushmore but also Crazy Horse Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, and Jewel Cave National Monument. There is so much to do in this lovely region!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    Great family trip

    Was our first long camping trip. The camp site was very nice lots of room. The campsites are spaced out so your not to close to anyone else. The bathrooms where clean and not far from any of the sites. The park is beautiful everywhere you go and the people are friendly and helpful. I will go back and recommend it to anyone thinking about it.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    reservation system needs work

    I assume people must reserve for two nights even if they are only coming for one, because reservation desk showed all sites full in all campgrounds but the one we got. However, driving through one campground, late evening, less than half the sites were full. In the campground we stayed at, there were only three sites used all night. All the rest were open, but I'm sure people were turned away.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    camping

    Traveling for 2 months, we stayed at many campgrounds and found the facilities at Custer State Park, Game Lodge Campground. The area was very scenic, restrooms and bath house clean, personnel friendly and very helpful, campsites spacious, location near Wind Cave and Crazy Horse Monument as well as other tourist destinations. Certainly recommend this campground and would have liked to have stayed longer and seen more of the state park had time allowed dit.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/20/2018

    THE HEALING PLACE

    The Black Hills have been our go to place for the last twelve years. Our trips started with camping with all our kids and now includes our kids, grandkids and even in-laws. We stay at the French Creek Horse Camp, and ride our horses daily taking in all types of weather and landscape changes. Our first year we took your horses we packed just right, we had rain gear, a light coat and even sun screen, and we used each item that first trip in fact that first day. Custer State Park is the one place we go that offers isolation or an action packed week of activities. We have gone hiking, boating, fishing, wildlife adventures, gone to local historic places like Deadwood, Keystone, Mount Rushmore.... there is so much to go and see outside of the park like the western museums and graveyard tour in Deadwood, the Mammoth Dig site and water park in Hot Springs, the train ride and Rushmore cave amusement park or panning for gold in Keystone, as well as helo rides in various locations, and of course there is Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse site that are a must to visit. and before your trip is done don't forget to do a old western horse drawn wagon ride and evening cookout, The food is to die for. Don't forget the many lodges where you can get some great things to take home as keep sakes. Since we have gone so many years I would have to say our favorite thing now is to take off in the morning on horse back, ride up to Blue Bell Lodge, eat a great breakfast, ride our for about 4 more hours taking in the wildlife and forest beauty then returning to camp for an evening meal, and a cold beverage after. (smores for those under age) We love siting around the campfire talking about what we saw or did that day and what we will do the next day. We tent camp by choice and on most of our trips we have been visited by the buffalo and turkey. This State Park is next to heaven for us and by the way the staff are friendly and the place is clean, rates are very reasonable vacation, y'all enjoy!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/19/2018

    Wonderful

    Stayed at the Center Lake Campground. Camp was well maintained, lake was nice with a great beach and picnic area, overall feal was comfortable. No cell seevice, but was not a problem for us, there is a phone for emergency use.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/19/2018

    Washroom woes

    Stayed at Blue Bell campground in camper cabin. Cabin was fine. Location in park was fine. Our major complaint was the inadequate number of bathroom/shower units for cabins. With just 3 units there were waiting lines both morning and evening. Facility needs to be like campground building where men's and women's bathrooms are separate with multiple showers and toilets on each side. Would not stay in these camper cabins again because of this issue.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/19/2018

    Great place to be

    Enjoyed our stay. Facilities clean and convenient. Most sites were not very level. Close to Mt Rushmore and other attractions.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/18/2018

    Great

    We forgot our grandsons blanket and the staff went over and above to return it to us-so nice! Also we all enjoyed the Dutch oven presentation . Thanks!!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top