• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    06/18/2021

    Put this one on your short list

    This state park was one of the best we have encountered during our travels in the US. We camped at Sylvan Lake campground for 3 nights and spent the days exploring the park and hanging out next to Center Lake. The campground bathrooms and showers were outstanding and it was great to be able to have a free hot shower in an impeccably clean facility after a long day of outdoor activities. The park is very well maintained and the variety of topography provides an adventure for everyone. We will definitely return to this park for another visit.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    04/14/2021

    Nice Visit

    xxxxxx
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/26/2020

    blown away

    we stayed at stockade north campground - and want to shout out to camp host Mike and Kathy for making our 8 plus days so wonderful-- Kathy made it possible for visit while we did not have a reservation-- excellent camphosts-- the campground is great with electical hookups in most sites and clean shower and restrooms- extra care in cleaning during this pandemic--the state park and surrounding area of the black hills is awesome-- first time and definitely return for the beauty and scenery... only wished that the people in the area-- locals and outsiders would heed the seriousness of Covid-- we need to all care for each other....
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/16/2020

    Heaven on Earth

    Last month was our first trip to SD and we stayed a week in Custer State Park in a Bluebell cabin. It was perfect. So peaceful and it SNOWED while we were there!!!! Added bonus because we LOVE snow. The area is so beautiful and Custer was close to everything we wanted to see. The animals were incredible and I fell in love with prairie dogs and the begging burrows!! We loved it so much that we are leaving to go back in 2 days!!!!! Kelli in reservations is a gem. Can’t wait to see all of you guys on Saturday and we will book our next trip with you while we are there!!!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/02/2020

    Camping at Sylvan Lake Campground

    My boyfriend and I loved our stay in the tent sites at Sylvan Lake. The sites are very secluded, with lots of great birds and wildlife to watch right outside your tent. The campground and facilities were all very clean. The park volunteer we ran into upon our arrival was very friendly. We can't wait for our next visit to Custer!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/20/2020

    Custer 2020

    Custer State park has everything you would want or need in a camping/outdoor experience. It has wildlife, hiking, and some of the most beautiful scenery in the Black Hill. It is close to everything else in the Black Hills like Mt Rushmore, Deadwood and Sturgis. This state park is comparable to a lot of the National Parks I have visited and we will be back.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/02/2020

    Wonderful surprise

    I was looking for lodging near Mt Rushmore & stumbled upon Culver State Park what a wonderful surprise - it is as nice if not nicer than any national park I have been to - We spend 4 nights in housekeeping cabin on our family trip (ages 71 to 9) - we booked in advance wildlife safari & chuck wagon dinner both were excellent - we had day trips planned out of park so we plan to return to spent a week in Culver State Park - it is beautiful & there is SO MUCH to see & do
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/11/2020

    Awesome adventure

    This was our first time camping at Custer and it was awesome! We stayed at Sylvan Lake. The facilities are clean, the trails are awesome but I would recommend adding some mile markers on the trails especially the longer ones. We had a great time seeing the wildlife through out the park.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/11/2020

    ?? Custer SP

    Custer SP is at the top of my list of best camping and hiking experiences! My family will continue to return, hopefully in the not-so-distant future!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/08/2020

    Camping in Stockade South

    We really enjoyed camping in Stockade Lake South campground. We were in cabin 11e. The yard area was fantastic for the kids and the bathrooms were nice and clean. My only complaints would be that this particular cabin is far from the "non-vault" bathrooms and that we had 2 snakes slither out from under our porch area (but I mean-it's camping right!). The park itself is BEAUTIFUL! our favorite spot was Sylvan lake. We also loved getting caught in 2 different Buffalo jams. We went in June and there were baby bison calves everywhere. They were fun to watch.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top