• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    03/24/2019

    AWESOME TIME , AWESOME PLACE

    Love the Blackhills and Custer State Park. The beauty, cleanliness, and serenity.The wildlife , terrain, and sights to see are awesome. It is a place to kick back relax and enjoy God's creation and beauty. You will not be disappointed. My Wife and I try to get up there at least once a year. We will up there again this year as well.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    03/14/2019

    A great week

    My wife and I visited Custer State Park in May 2018. We needed to check on our Bison buddies after the big fire. What an amazing experience. Seeing just born Bison, baby prairie dogs, and pronghorns was a real treasure to never be forgotten. We did some hiking, and some relaxing. I was really impressed with the staff and their dedication to getting the park cleaned up and open for business after the fire. I love it out here! Can't wait to get back for the Bison Roundup in 2019.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/25/2018

    Serene campsite

    This campsite was fabulous. We used this as a inexpensive way for our 6 person family to tour Mount Rushmore and get a feel for the area for one night. We were pressed for time but if we had known what a nice campsite this was we would have budgeted more time here: next to a beautiful creek, shade, pretty landscape, nice amenities and the black hills to explore. The only thing I'd want to change was the heat but that's inescapable due to visiting in July! Will definitely plan to revisit this campground.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/05/2018

    Motorcycle trip

    Hello, I went on a three month long motorcycle trip this past summer (2018) and Custer State Park was one if the places I stopped at in order to pitch my tent and stay the night. Throughout my 3-month journey I stayed at many, many campgrounds, AirBnbs, hotels, hostels, etc. Custer State Park was the low point as far as Value and Reservation process were concerned. After a long day of riding it is always nice to come upon a campground that has a fair price and an easy reservation system; Custer had neither. I arrived about an hour before sunset (as I usually do), I was tired, and wanted to set my tent up before dark. The first hurdle was the $10 (cash) Park vehicle pass. I didn’t have a $10 bill. So I had to jump back on bike and go find change somewhere. That took 30 minutes, and it was closer to sunset. The next hurdle was that you have to use a Reservation phone at the campsite to make a reservation before setting up tent...even though there were many open spots. The phone was easy to find, the receptionist answered relatively quickly, and was friendly enough, but then I spent about 15 minutes on the phone, answering questions, providing credit card information, address, email, phone number, state of residence, and much much more simply to reserve a 20ft x 20ft patch of dirt in order to pitch small two-man tent...and it was only for one night. I have bought vehicles in less time. By the time the reservation process was over, the 20ft x 20ft patch of earth cost me nearly $40....what? I could stay in an Econo Lodge for cheaper than that (Kissimmee FL...$35). The $40 consisted of the $10 Park vehicle pass, a camping fee, a phone call fee, a non-resident fee, and finally taxes. It was like looking at my cell phone bill. South Dakota...could you possibly make the camping process any more complicated? And why the non-resident fee? It that your way of attracting tourists? Unfortunately I have seen other State parks doing this. I am one guy on a small motorcycle that just wants to pitch a tent for one night, but there is a complex reservation process and cost structure that treats me like I am driving a 40 foot motorhome. Please look at how the National Parks run their campgrounds...always easy and simple. You ride/drive up to the gate, grab an envelope, and slip in a $20 bill. No taxes, no non-resident fee, no phone charge, no fuss no muss. First come first serve. Easy!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/02/2018

    Outstanding

    The park is kept very nice, lots to do and see inside the park.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/29/2018

    Home away from Home

    My husband and I come back to Custer State Park every year, for the past 8 years for the Sturgis Bike Rally. We stay in the Game Lodge Campground in cabins and most times bring other friends and family with us. As we head out for our trip, we reserve our cabins for the following year! We are already booked for the 2019 Sturgis stay! <3 So in love with South Dakota and love that we can stay at Custer State Park, cabins are beautiful and clean, along with the shower house!!! All the staff at Custer State Park are amazing and very helpful! Love the Visitor center, we watch the movie every year! :)
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/19/2018

    Ms.

    Loved the experience of tent camping in the cool nights!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/16/2018

    Perfect

    We loved our visit to Custer State Park. It has many camping options based on your needs, and plenty of activities throughout the park to enjoy. If you're looking for a hiking tour, a driving tour, or a walking tour through some of the facilities, you'll find it all. Everyone that we encountered was extremely nice and helpful.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/15/2018

    Bad time with Sturgis

    We did not enjoy going during the Sturgis motorcycle rally and received misleading information about having to make a reservation in a "tent-only" space that was surrounded by RVs and close to a road that was loud due to motorcycles. Motorcycles also disturbed our viewing of wildlife along wildlife focused scenic drives.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/15/2018

    Great Vacation

    Great park to camp with the whole family.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top