• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    12/12/2019

    Report

    Great fishing area Great campground Excellent staff Excellent supply availability and services
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/13/2019

    August 2019

    We had a pleasant stay. Campground was very quiet. Restrooms were clean and well ventilated.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/09/2019

    First experience at Cow Creek

    When I first got here the ranger station provided excellent service her name is Sharon she steered me in the right direction when I got to the site it was great it was semi private and you could fish all the way around the shore of the peninsula. Although the fish did not cooperate all that well I did catch three small small mouth bass. Then I decided to move to Okobojo Area and found another wonderful site. The facilities at this area Has hot water in the shower. Overall it was a great first experience
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/07/2019

    Cow Creek just so so

    We have been lucky enough to camp at numerous state parks along the Missouri (North Point, Snake Creek, Buryaneks, Cheif White Crane, Lewis and Clark, Indian Creek) and Cow Creek is just so so. Bad to no grass, no breeze in the park as there are no breaks in the shelter belt the sites sits in between. Beautiful spots on the finger points that would be reserved every weekend if they would as electricity. Fishing would be the only reason to stay here and even with that there are better spots to fish on the river that have beautiful Stats Park. Vern the host here is very crabby and territorial, not welcoming and engaging. Definitely a park that could improve upon itself with a little work.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com



    Management Response

    Thank you for your comments. Cow Creek is a developing park that is increasing in popularity. Each SD State Park has their own unique features, and fishing is definitely the big draw to Cow Creek. Many fishing tournaments are held at Cow Creek, and many anglers utilize the campground. Vern, our Campground Host, is very devoted and has over 10,000 volunteer hours in SD State Parks. I will ask him about your interaction with him and see where improvements can be made. -- Erik E. Richter, Park Manager
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/05/2019

    Disappointed

    A group of us stayed here Aug. 1st-4th in our various campers in spaces 18-22. The vault bathroom closest to #22 was disgustingly smelly and had cobwebs. I know there has to be some type of "all natural" chemical you can control the odor with! Then there were the FLYS, they were relentless!! And of course there were mosquitoes, a few were to be expected! But not to the amount that was at our spots. The biting FLIES about did a camper in..... It made for a very miserable experience. We sprayed every "over the counter" product we had at them, to no avail! We enjoyed that our camping spots were large and had space! We were here for a fishing tourney. Will think twice before booking here again.
    (more...)



    Management Response

    Thank you for your comments. Our facilities, including our vault toilets, are maintained daily. Unfortunately, vault toilets are not odor free, especially during hot summer days. We do have a comfort station with flush toilets to utilize to eliminate the less-than-pleasant experience that can occur in a vault toilet. The wet weather we have experienced all season has made the prevalence of insects increase from the norm. While we do spray for mosquitoes when the West Nile carrying species increases in number, there is not a product to spray to eliminate the flies. We recommend personal protection using a DEET product. -- Erik E. Richter, Park Manager
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/30/2019

    Wonderful

    This location was awesome for fishing, hiking and water sports. You can access the main channel or back water of the Missouri River, depending on what your activity demands.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/18/2019

    Cow Creek Camping/Fishing

    Cow Creek Campground has great camping sites are very nice. You can choose to be close to the showers.or pick a site with a great view of the reservoir. It has a nice boat dock and fish cleaning station. (Out of state campers beware of hidden fees if you book on line.) There is also a Lodge nearby that is in walking distance, if you want to buy ice, a cocktail or breakfast or prime rib dinner. They also sell gas.Fishing was slow but caught enough to eat some. We're told it is behind this year due to a cold wet spring. That is a chance you take .
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com



    Management Response

    Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed Cow Creek! It is a increasingly popular destination! South Dakota State Parks are funded by user fees. This includes the camping fees and the park entrance fees. When a reservation is made, guests sign off on "must-reads"-one is "I understand that park entrance fees are above and beyond camping fees." We do this to avoid the appearance of a "hidden fee". You agreed to this acknowledgement when you made your online reservation. Some other states do not charge entrance fees to state parks. They secure their funding elsewhere, sometimes by taxing residents. We feel that our entrance fees help keep are parks maintained in a fair manner by collecting fees from users equally, both residents and out-of-state visitors. -- Erik E. Richter, Park Manger
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/10/2019

    Cow creek review

    Great clean campground. Bathrooms are kept very clean along with the cabins and the campground itself. Easy Missouri river access with 4 available docks.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/27/2019

    Good as always

    Cow Creek has a very good, well situated camp ground and the facilities are well maintained just as all other SD GFP campgrounds are. It's hard to have a bad experience at any of them.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/26/2019

    Cow Creek Camping

    We always enjoy the cow creek campground. It is a nice facility and the fishing is starting to get good.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 7
    Back to top