• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/24/2020

    Very nice park for longer rigs

    We stayed overnight on a weeknight during the latter part of September, and pretty much had the park to ourselves. Our site on Herman Pond had a great view, lots of bird activity which was fun to watch. We have a 30 ft. camper and large truck, and didn't have to unhook. Plus, it was quiet at night. We'd stay here again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/24/2020

    1st visit to Herman

    We were on our way to the Badlands from MN. Lake Herman was the perfect distance for a first night stay. Do to COVID, there was no one at the entrance station. We called the phone number posted and made a site reservation. We also had to give a daily few for park entrance. (This was a separate transaction in an envelope at the entrance. I would suggest that entrancee fees be rolled into camping fees so there's one price for camping.) The park is beautiful. Site 5, which we were on, was very spacious and we backed our 33-foot motorhome in with a motorcycle trailer on the back and still had plenty of room. The dump station just before the campground was very nice also. The scenery with the lake wrapped around the campground was really nice. We stored this campground's information away for future westerly trips.x
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/15/2020

    Nice Fall Adventure

    We enjoy camping here because the sites are large and well maintained. Nice burn rings for cooking and enjoying smores. Not a lot of bike paths but with the one ways we use the streets. Nice enjoyable weekend getaway.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/15/2020

    Great spot

    It was no fault of the park, but the inconsiderate campers that stayed before us didn’t clean up after their dog and there were 5 big piles that we had to clean up in the rain. It was quite unpleasant But other than that it was a great stay.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/15/2020

    Family Fun for days

    We really love this campground. It’s close to home for us, however, you feel hours away! Great trails, parks, beach area and the camping lots are also pretty spacious. My kids didn’t want to leave!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/09/2020

    Relaxing Cabin Weekend

    My family and I stayed in a cabin at the park. There were things to do for the whole family, and my son is already trying to convince us to return. The cabin was very inviting and clean. Accessibility was not an issue. I highly recommend staying in a cabin for a 'not quite primitive' experience at the park. The fishing was awesome, too!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/06/2020

    Wisc Road Trip

    This was my first time visiting Lake Herman and it was a convenient stop over camping site. I almost always choose USFS Campgrounds, but since they were not in this area, I took a chance and reserved a spot here. I was delighted to find how spacious and private the camp sites were. So many state parks in my home state are way too close together. I chose a site right by the lake, which was awesome in terms of use, but quite windy. The bathrooms were kept very clean, and the host that I met was quite gracious. There is also a nice trail around the lake area and I was happy to take a 3 mile walk after driving for so long. Great for birdwatching too! If I am ever in the area on another long road trip, I will happily use this camp ground again.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/04/2020

    Midweek visit

    We always visiting this campground,especially the sites on lower level next to the small lake. Always peaceful the first part of the week.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/02/2020

    Great for tent camping!

    Often the tent only spaces feel like an afterthought, but these were very nicely situated. Very spacious and felt private. We were very close to both swimming areas and near multiple vault toilets. The tent areas have a lot of trees and are shady and good for hammocks.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/01/2020

    Weekend getaway

    My 12 year old son recently completed chemo and we wanted a weekend for just us. A hotel, amusement park or large city is out of question due to pandemic so we started to look for cabins. Lake Herman's cabin C4 was perfect getaway. New roomy cabin. Very secure with a great location across from restrooms/shower. New landscaping being completed. Access to cabin from parking area could be improved, the pavers are loose and small. With hoses running across them they are dangerous at night. Hoping that some of the area is leveled off so there can be parking closer to cabin or at least a "yard" for game play. Beautiful bike paths, and nature trails in the park and easy access to swim beach and fishing areas. The restroom and shower were clean the entire weekend. We missed not being able to bring dog to the cabin but understand the reasoning. We will return.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top