• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    07/20/2020

    Custer 2020

    Custer State park has everything you would want or need in a camping/outdoor experience. It has wildlife, hiking, and some of the most beautiful scenery in the Black Hill. It is close to everything else in the Black Hills like Mt Rushmore, Deadwood and Sturgis. This state park is comparable to a lot of the National Parks I have visited and we will be back.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/02/2020

    Wonderful surprise

    I was looking for lodging near Mt Rushmore & stumbled upon Culver State Park what a wonderful surprise - it is as nice if not nicer than any national park I have been to - We spend 4 nights in housekeeping cabin on our family trip (ages 71 to 9) - we booked in advance wildlife safari & chuck wagon dinner both were excellent - we had day trips planned out of park so we plan to return to spent a week in Culver State Park - it is beautiful & there is SO MUCH to see & do
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/11/2020

    Awesome adventure

    This was our first time camping at Custer and it was awesome! We stayed at Sylvan Lake. The facilities are clean, the trails are awesome but I would recommend adding some mile markers on the trails especially the longer ones. We had a great time seeing the wildlife through out the park.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/11/2020

    ?? Custer SP

    Custer SP is at the top of my list of best camping and hiking experiences! My family will continue to return, hopefully in the not-so-distant future!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/08/2020

    Camping in Stockade South

    We really enjoyed camping in Stockade Lake South campground. We were in cabin 11e. The yard area was fantastic for the kids and the bathrooms were nice and clean. My only complaints would be that this particular cabin is far from the "non-vault" bathrooms and that we had 2 snakes slither out from under our porch area (but I mean-it's camping right!). The park itself is BEAUTIFUL! our favorite spot was Sylvan lake. We also loved getting caught in 2 different Buffalo jams. We went in June and there were baby bison calves everywhere. They were fun to watch.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/05/2020

    Sylvan lake campground

    Stayed at Sylvan lake campground with a 25 ft. Class C RV. It was beautiful. The facilities were nice and well maintained. We loved being a short walk from the beautiful little lake and there are several great hiking options you can get to right from the campground. We also liked the spacing between campsites, you weren’t right on top of each other. We would love to come back some time!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/05/2020

    Great family destination

    My niece and I go to Custer State Park every year. We are trying to stay in each campground. This year we stayed in Blue Bell, especially because we wanted to ride the horses. We took a two hour trail ride, which was great, and all of the amenities in the campground were wonderful. We cooked over the fire, walked around the park a fair bit, and dipped our toes in the still chilly water of Legion lake. It was, as always, a great trip.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/05/2020

    Travel 1953

    Great park, camp cabins are wonderful. Centralized location for travel to National Parks and monuments in area. Visited park eight times in past twenty years. First time camping.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/05/2020

    No Xtra Corrals

    French Creek is a beautiful place to ride & camp. The first time we rode there 10+ years ago, we brought 4 horses & were able to purchase additional stalls. This year we brought 3 and no extra stalls could be purchased for 3rd horse & not advised on reservation. There were over 30 empty for our entire stay and Camp Host forbid use of these even though we offered to pay. They offered no solution other than putting 2 horses in one 12x12 stall, obviously unaware of dangers this can cause non-herd or herd horse! Can't e-fence over night, can't tie to trailer. Give me an option, Lady! Perhaps the right answer was "I am sorry you were not informed that stabling was only available for 2 horses. Since we are only 1/2 capacity, we can offer you a stall for this stay. In the future, you will need to reserve 2 sites." Wouldn't that have been a great experience? Camp host bragged at being the "only woman employee in all male prison" (didn't know there were co-ed prisons?) & treats guests like inmates. She went off on a man who had barely unloaded his horse because his dog wasn't contained. What about a "welcome" first? Instead of informing re dangers of buffalo, she gossiped about camper who had a run in and how she saved the day and called him dumb. Most unpleasant woman. Mr. Camphost watched a 12 yr old kid (or younger) drive a truck up to dumpster and hit a rock. His comment was he didn't wear the right shoes for riding. What about no drivers license? What if he hit a person? And you are worried about a dog? Luckily we only stayed a few days; will not go back if she is the host. To the park, you have an opportunity to create more income by renting out stalls not in use on a first come first served basis. You know how many are reserved. Lost income opportunity.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/05/2020

    great place to be

    We have camped and used the cabins in Game Lodge Campground for years! We love it here and return yearly. It's so relaxing and peaceful and plenty to do!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top