• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/26/2020

    watch for light poles

    Everything was great except that I could not sleep due to a bright light on a pole at my tenting campsite. These poles do not show up on online booking. I go to campgrounds to see the stars, not electric lights. Please remove this nuisance. Security lighting if any, should be subtle and low.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/23/2020

    Nice Campground

    The sites are nice and roomy. Level and paved - which is great. Lake view sites are the best. Firepits are fine and I was able to cook on the grate easily (which is what we typically do). Our complaint is the lack of water - which seems to be common with SD State parks. We are used to our county and state parks always having water and electric at our site. For the price, we expect water readily available. We completely missed the area when pulling off the highway to fill our water tanks, so we were driving around the campground trying to find a hydrant---they are few and far between and not marked very well. We like Yankton-- Dairy Dock is always great. Fishing and boating is good - however gets really busy on the week-ends so we try to go during the week (and it's still busy). Nice sand beach near this campground (again, gets busy).
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/22/2020

    Our Favorite Campground

    Chief White Crane continues to be our family's favorite camping destination. It has beautiful mature trees, spacious camp spots, proximity to fishing and swimming, and our kids love the variety of playgrounds. We enjoy the walking/biking trails and the camp host/hostess are always so helpful and kind. Our first camping experience at Chief White crane with friends is the whole reason we purchased our first family travel trailer!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/21/2020

    Lovely

    Stated with family in 2 campsites and 1 cabin. Sites are large with long level pads that are paved. Plenty of room for tow vehicle. Fire rings are large and have a cooking grate.Cabin was clean without an odor. Bathroom shower house was clean and water was hot. Campground personnel were seen several times per day driving through the park and checking out the bathroons. Nice view of the lake from cabin deck. Large aluminum picnic tables. We love coming to this campground!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/21/2020

    Sd camping

    We had our first visit to Chief White Crane September 11 to the 13th. We had a wonderful time. Going back this weekend!! And many more times!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/21/2020

    Fun Everytime

    This is the only place we will camp due to the cleanliness, friendliness and feeling of home away from home. We love the space and the fishing spots and have never had a bad experience. Always welcomed by the Park Rangers and Hosts. Definitely will be back next year and will recommend to anyone that asks!!!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/20/2020

    Camping

    Nice sites with mature trees for shade. Lots to do for kids with the lake and swimming beach near by.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/20/2020

    awesome stay

    This campground is my parents "spot". This is where they camp all the time and have said nothing but praises. So we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed! The lots are absolutely huge. The fire rings are very big. We did not use the public restrooms or showers. Not because they aren't good but with covid going around we just didn't feel safe. We have 3 more sites reserved here through October! Just wish there was less trump flags ;) We recommend Chief White Crane!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/20/2020

    Camping vacation

    This was our first time camping here and we absolutely loved it!! It is very well kept up, sites are nicely spaced and park rangers drove through pretty often, so we felt safe. We were there during the week so there very few others there! We stayed in cabin 10 and we're very happy with it. Some of the cabins visibly need repairs so we wouldn't stay in them. Cabin 9 needs a new deck....boards are loose and it's leaning down. The "port a potties" behind us were gnat infested, so we couldn't use it. Had to drive down to the more modern bathroom to use the facilities. Shower house #4 is the cleanest, most modern bathroom I've ever seen in a campground. All around, it is now my favorite place for camping and we will for sure be back!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/15/2020

    Would definitely return!

    We really liked this campground! There’s plenty of room and yard between camper pads, fire pits are great sized and the gate staff were very friendly too. Of course it was really busy because it was Labor Day weekend so there were loads of people fishing and on the lake so not a whole lot of room there but you can’t help that. Bath house wasn’t the cleanest (again super busy weekend) but there was someone there every morning to clean. I would say they could use maybe an extra stall and shower or two in the bath house just because it’s a busy campground. Trails are nice for bikers or hiking but tough for a stroller because not all is paved. Overall, a nice stay! We would return!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10
    Back to top