• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/22/2020

    Dangerous Pathway

    After visiting Buryanek in May 2020, I emailed and received an email back from Justin Thede. High waters and fallen trees has made it nearly impossible to access the river from the north end of the campgrounds. I offered a few solutions to repair the path, or to make a new one. Thede stated that we will "take into considerations my ideas". Well, absolutely NOTHING has been done. In fact, the situation is worse. Someone is going to get seriously hurt using the horrible obstacle course to try to get to the water. Why?? When someone gets injured, who is liable?? The State has been warned, and decided to absolutely nothing to remedy the mess. I'm sure Covid could be used as an excuse. Not in this case. If two state workers went out with a chain saw and a BobCat, in a couple of hours a safe, reliable, affordable path could be created. Again, someone is going to be hurt. Why?? Campers should be treated with respect and a heavy emphasis on safety. That is not the case here. Create a safe path. Humans are in danger - something that can easily be avoided.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/22/2020

    First time

    Reserved G1 online and received confirmation. Arrived at approximately 6:30pm on day of reservation (Saturday). Upon arrival the site was occupied by a large group of people with four vehicles, a generator, camper and tent. Rather than engaging in conversation with the group we decided to go to the camp host first and double check there wasn’t a double booked or something else beyond anyone’s control. Although there was a vehicle with state park emblems on it no one was at the site. We called the phone number on our reservation and no one answered. We decided to go check the other group sites G2 &G3 to see if they were occupied/reserved. G3 was not so we settled there and had a great time due to the natural splendor of the Missouri River. We called the number on our reservation again and left a message explaining the situation and asked that if someone who rightfully reserved G3 showed up we would be happy to leave however we would need someone to address the occupants in the site that we reserved G1 so we could stay there as we paid for it. No such issues arose and we left around noon the next day. Overall very beautiful area, very poor service and frustration with occupants of reserved sites. Also no fire wood was available.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/14/2020

    Sept 2020 visit

    My parents met my boyfriend I at the Buryanek Rec area. We live in Rapid City and they live in Yankton so this was a nice half-way point. We stayed in a cabin the first night (+ tent spot for dog and human) and we all tented for one night. Pros: The modern bathrooms and showers were super clean. The Buryanek Rec Area is a few miles off the main hiqhway so there is almost no noise and light pollution from the HWY. Snake Creek is closer and you can hear the road from almost anywhere in the Snake Creek campground. Pretty sunsets, the Missouri is right there at your cabin door. Wow, the stars. Cons: Tons of flies, they didn't bite or anything but they landed on everything. There is a flood light or some kind of light in the center of the campground which I can only imagine is pretty annoying if you get a camping spot underneath it. I'm a little perplexed that light was out there, people should know to take a flashlight when they camp. Right? There are not real hiking trails that we could find in the area (we did the trail at Snake Creek). Not much to do if you do not have a boat or fish and its a bit to cold to swim. If we had a camper or indoor space, reading and relaxing would have been nice but the flies were to annoying to enjoy a book outside. The cost is kind of high for this type of campground. Most campgrounds if you are paying for a site you do not have to pay the entrance fee. We got a cabin ($55), tent spot two nights ($25) and two cars ($8 per day or $20 for 7 days).. Well over $100.00 for four adults and a dog to be out there for a weekend. I've camped all over the west and read reviews about this spot being expensive and I didn't really think much of it until I added it all up.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/03/2020

    Amazing views!

    We got there and went straight to the site. It was easy enough to get to. The views of the water were amazing. The bathhouse was clean and had plenty of hot water. The campsite was well maintained and clean. I would come back and enjoy more time there.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/02/2020

    Magic

    Very clean. Quiet and secluded campground. Beautiful view.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/25/2020

    Summer

    very clean and quiet.would go amd reserves agaian.The cabin was great and all animals are keep to their campers
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/19/2020

    Quaint

    Quiet, beautiful area. Clean. Great water acces and beach are . Had an amazing time.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/19/2020

    We thought once would be enough

    Our goal is to stay at every state park and rec area with camping in the state. We do scouting trips to make out parks and make notes for when we stay. This was what we called a one and done. Stay once and never come back. That has changed! We arrived on Sunday to a fairly full park. By the afternoon we had the entire side on the river to ourselves. The pure quite was amazing. The view was beyond what I thought it would be. A great park to just be. It also has a nice swimming beach, though it lack boyees to protect swimmers, so boats would come right up to shore. The rise of the sun over the opposite shore bluffs make this worth the stay! My husband was up at 4:30 and captured the sun starting to rise and the moon shining on the river. If looking for peace and quiet we recommend the week days. Clean bathrooms and a dump station round out this great park! It also includes a nice park for the kids. We never did see the campground hosts. We would like to have seen them make the rounds.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/18/2020

    Pleasantly surprised!

    This was our family's first ever time camping! We had such a wonderful experience here. It was clean, quiet, and in a BEAUTIFUL location. Since we were just passing through on our way to MT we only stayed one night, but we are already talking about coming back for a longer stay. We camped in a tent, had plenty of space, and weren't bothered by other campers. The bathrooms were very clean and readily available. The park was clean, as was the beach area, and the scenery was beautiful!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/17/2020

    overall good experience

    Overall experience was good. The bothering factor is people kept driving down to the campsite area and turning around. A car load of people decided to stay unwanted, total strangers, and use the beach area that was near our campsite instead of the public swimming area. Otherwise the area was some what clean with a few things left behind by people that did pick up well after themselves.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 7
    Back to top