PARK REVIEWS

A minusOverall Rating
11/01/2017

Great Campground

This is a definite do-over campground. I appreciated how clean all the facilities were and how friendly park personnel were. This was a perfect fall get away!
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/16/2017

Out of Staters

Camping at west whitlock Oct 14th to go fishing. Campground was quiet, although there was children. While in my camper I had someone walk for pheasants directly behind my camper...I mean in the grass that isn't mowed directly behind my camper. Then while my friend and I were casting south of the salmon station, right below the parking lot, bird hunters were shooting to the west of the salmon station. I could here their shot echo off the building. When we got back to the campground and needed to use the facilities, we found that they (Bird hunting group) had taken over the entire bathroom to use as their drying area. Clothes and such draped over everything. I consider myself an outdoorsman, and I know we all have equal rights, but the etiquette I experienced this weekend was beyond comprehension. If I had my son with me I would have flipped out, and taken the opportunity to teach him why it's important to think of others. I am not very good at putting my feelings into words, and this is an irrelevant statement, but I'm deeply saddened by the way hunting/fishing is exploited. It is not a sport, its a lifestyle. It's about the chase, not the catch/kill. Its about fellowship, togetherness, camaraderie, adventure, and at the end...killing and eating. Anyone that disagrees should be shopping at the supermarket, and leave the land for people that cherish it in all its beauty. Advertising to attract others to come to our state to hunt/fish is understood. Money runs/ruins all things. And I know local people can be rude as well. But today hunting and fishing has become a fad, like bell bottom pants. It's a cool thing to do. It's more important to show people what you're doing or have done than to enjoy the moment. Which people probably aren't enjoying themselves because they're worried they won't be able to post a picture of a great trophy if they aren't successful. Closing words...If you don't like to eat it, don't kill it.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/10/2017

"Comfort" Station

The campground overall is OK, but the south "comfort" station has cold showers. I find that inexcusable, and hence my poor rating of this campground. Running the water several minutes did little to worm up the shower. This "comfort" station has the typical problems: cold showers, inadequate hooks for clothing and towels, and inadequate shelving for bathroom kit. If campground managers had to use these facilities, the problems would not exist. Such poor service demonstrates campground managers treat users to a different second-class standard. Again, cold showers are inexcusable. Please don't pretend to provide a "comfort" station when showers are cold and the clothing hooks and shelving are inadequate. The remainder of the campground was OK. Thank you.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/10/2017

Last campout before cold

We had an amazing experience at the campground. We were there to relax and fish. Caught some catfish. We went to see the salmon ladder. It was a great camping weekend. We will return for sure.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/04/2017

Great park

This was our third visit to this park, and we are never disappointed. Great people, nice camp sites and great fishing.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/03/2017

stint

great place
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/02/2017

Nice

The park was very nice in the end of September. No sights are directly on the water but you aren't far from it. Roomy sites The only thing I don't like about SD parks is that you have to pay for the site either on line or by phone and they add an extra fee for that. With not being in the height of the season, I don't understand why they can't have a fort come, first serve and pay envelopes.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
09/24/2017

AM

Beautiful state park. Will be back next year!
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
09/18/2017

Second stay

We came back for our 2nd labor day weekend. Planning for next year too. Very nice campground! Some sites are lacking shade and it was hot this year but we still had fun. It seems to be a pretty quiet campground. The staff is very good! The bay itself is nice and of course it is part of the Missouri river for fishing and boating. We caught some fish and kids had fun tubing.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
09/16/2017

hot and windy

I had scheduled a 2 day visit so that I could hook some Northern just as I had done when stationed in Gettysburg in the service. The campground in great, loved all the facilities, and the area. Unfortunately the fish were not biting as well as the mosquitoes and fly's. The wind howling at 15-25 mph did little to help and the temperatures were high for this time of year. All that said it was a great time and I look forward to returning before another 48 years pass.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Back to top