Description

Nestled on the shores of Shadehill Reservoir, Shadehill Recreation Area offers opportunities to enjoy land- and water-based activities. The reservoir is one of western South Dakota's few large lakes. The dam, built in 1951 by the Bureau of Reclamation, creates more than 5,000 surface acres of water to enjoy.

Give yourself plenty of time to explore the area by reserving a campsite, cabin or the two-bedroom lodge. Planning your stay is easy when you use the online system. The two-bedroom lodge at Shadehill Recreation Area is a favorite for family retreats and hunting groups. The furnished lodge sleeps up to 10 people and is air-conditioned and heated. It can be reserved a year in advance. The cabins, which accommodate four people, also have heating, air conditioning, electricity and a fire grate and picnic table outside. Campsites all come with electricity and access to comfort stations with showers and flush toilets.

To take advantage of the large inviting lake at Shadehill Recreation Area, guests may hit the beach, use the boat ramp and fish for walleye, smallmouth bass and crappie. The town of Lemmon, 12 miles away, is home to the Petrified Wood Park and Museum and the annual Boss Cowman Rodeo and Tent Celebration.

Amenities

Onsite

  • Pull Thru Available
  • 50 Amp Available
  • Tent Sites Available
  • Group Area
  • Lake
  • River
  • Dump Station
  • Picnic Area
  • BBQ Facilities
  • Courtesy Dock
  • ADA Accessible
  • Groups Welcome
  • Pets Welcome
  • Rural Setting
  • Quiet Atmosphere
  • Credit Crd Accepted

Nearby

  • Horse Facility
  • Chapel Services

Recreation

Onsite

  • Beach
  • Playground
  • Boat Ramp
  • Backpacking
  • Bird Watching
  • Boating - Limited
  • Boating - Paddle
  • Boating
  • Boating - Watercraft
  • Family Activity
  • Fishing
  • Hiking
  • Horseback Riding
  • Hunting
  • Outdoor Games
  • Sailing/Windsurfing
  • Scenic Driving
  • Sightseeing
  • Swimming
  • Water Skiing
  • Wildlife Viewing

Nearby

  • ATV/OHV/Mtcy
  • Biking - Mountain
  • Biking - Road
  • Entertainment
  • Golfing
  • Trap/Skeet Shooting

Recent Reviews

  •      
  • More Reviews

D
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Door not programmed!
0 % of users found this review helpful
The last 3 times I've stayed in a cabin here over the last two years, there have been problems with the doors being not being programmed or not being programmed correctly. This past weekend, after ice fishing pretty late into the night, we got to or reserved cabin to find that the door had not been programmed. The last time I stayed, last winter, two of the four digits of the door code were swapped around...not a big deal. We figured it out and had a great stay. However, the time before that in the same season, we had the same issue with the door not being programmed at all. The problems still aren't enough to deter my staying there, as it is one of the nicest campgrounds west river and the fishing is second to none in the area. I just wish that I hadn't had the inconvenience after a long day on the ice.
(...more...)
courtesy of camping.com
Management Response
I'm sorry that you have had problems with the locks on the cabin doors. Last summer we updated all of the locks on the cabin doors because the old ones were not functioning like they were supposed to and programming the codes was hit or miss, the code would be in the door immediately after programming but an hour later it may not be. What we have found this winter with the new locks is that the extremely cold weather we had did not cooperate with the cabin locks. The locks would "forget" the code that had been entered. Once again I am sorry for the inconvenience but we are working with the lock company to find a solution. Thank you.
(...more...)

Pep3314
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 03/10/2014
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Staffing problems
0 % of users found this review helpful
Living in Lemmon, I hate to say anything bad about Shadehill however an incident some 5 years ago left me with a sour taste in my mouth, and a gerneral aversion to ever camping there again, in fact it took lots of talk to get me to once again return to Shadehill. The problem surounded some drunken Montana'n folk who decided to take over the Lewella John's park, they moved to several differnt sites, and even knocked on our camper and requested we give up our reserve site so they could "get together". When we refused, they called the Ranger and complained about US! I guess having a law enforcement background, I expeced the ranger to see through the drunken idiot's complaints, however he sided with the idiots who had been unplugging my unit, interfering with our camp, and gave me a chewing out I used to reserve for Child Molesters and the like back in the day. He forced us to pay for our daughter's tent set up on our site she used for storage, not sleeping, and advised me that if I couldn't get along with fellow campers I should consider camping elsewhere. Well I did up till last fall when we finally got a better camper and wanted a short trip to shake it out. Our trip was OK to say the least, in fact I didn't even SEE a ranger, or worker, or gate keeper our entire weekend, or the following weekend. Had I not paid online for the camping I would have had to paid with the enverlopes since we seemed to be on our own. I guess I will return next spring to try it again and see if there is a staff really at Shadehill any more, and to see if they will still take the word of a drunk out of stater over a relaxed local fellow just trying to have a relaxed weekend with his family near a lake that has so many great memories for us.
(...more...)
campsd.com
Management Response
I'm sorry you had problems with fellow campers and staff at the Llewellyn Johns campground years ago. There have been many changes to Llewellyn Johns and Shadehill over the past few years with staff and policy in the campgrounds so you shouldn't have any issues like that in the future. In the shoulder seasons (spring and fall) our staffing is greatly reduced, but there is at least one employee who works every weekend. Although you may have not seen who was working, they were around tending to the facilities and campers over the course of the weekend. If you have any additional concerns please give us a call and we can discuss these things. 605-374-5114. Thank you.
(...more...)

Hunter
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 02/22/2014
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Ice fishing
0 % of users found this review helpful
Every fishing report says shade hill is horrible for ice fishing . not so we have been coming up here and staying at this cabin for six years and have had a blast every time! Great place to stay
(...more...)
courtesy of camping.com

Spike nelson
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 01/30/2014
F
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
failure of services
0 % of users found this review helpful
Myself and three other friends have been coming to the Lemmon area for west river deer hunting and pheasant hunting for close to thirty years.We have always enjoyed our stay at shadehill, but that came to an end this year.We had a 10 day hunt planned and as always looked forward to it. Ever since the shower house was built we have had warm showers and clean bathrooms for our convenience. This year we arrived to find out the showers were closed due to the storm. I realize they had a huge mess to clean up, but I feel there should have been some efforts made to get these facilities in working order. There is always a huge crowd of hunters there for deer and pheasant season and I am sure there were a lot of unhappy individuals. I feel that by not having these services we should be offered at least a 50% refund. Thank you for letting me vent.
(...more...)
courtesy of camping.com
Management Response
Due to the storm there were many things out of our control. We would have loved to have things back in working order sooner but with our limited staff we had to focus on picking up and removing the damaged trees in the Shadehill campground and the rest of the parks within this district. These trees were a hazard and a safety concern and had to be removed to allow visitors to even enter the park. We were without power for over 20 days in the campground, this required us to winterize all of the facilities early to prevent any further damage from the cold temperatures. All of these things combined caused many mechanical problems trying to reopen these facilities after the power was restored. I enjoyed talking to you during your stay and I do apologize for the inconvenience of the comfort station being closed.
(...more...)

thurman
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/18/2013