•      
A-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
memorable
0 % of users found this review helpful
Nice cabin roomy and warm nice setting
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

barn owl
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/25/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Fun time
0 % of users found this review helpful
Great time! Staff very helpful and courteous. Beautiful park! Used to go to Chief White Crane Park. Staff was not helpful at all. Would not let you get in cabin until 4pm even when it was ready. Will not go back there!
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Henry
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/21/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Really nice but...
0 % of users found this review helpful
Nice clean park but phone reception was horrible (as it has been for decades). Forget about internet access, hotspot, tethering or phone. This is the digital age. Get with the program.
(...more...)

Francis
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/21/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Beautiful park!
0 % of users found this review helpful
This was our first visit to a South Dakota state park. It did not disappoint. The grounds were well kept and beautiful,the restrooms were very clean, showers nice. We will definitely return.
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

LoveSDparks
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/04/2017
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Could have been better
0 % of users found this review helpful
The area over all was nice. The lake, trails etc were nice over the Labor Day holiday. The bad thing was on the sites where we camped walnuts and acorns fell and busted out skyline on the camper. Friday night security came around to my site and the neighbors site and said we were loud but we weren't. The next night they didn't do anything about he campers across the tree line who you could hear their music and talking in the whole park until early in the morning. It was the worst experience camping I have had we ended up leaving a day early because my family was so exhausted and didn't want to deal with another RUDE night with the neighbors( and that's saying it nicely) security should have not let the music get so loud after quiet hours. It finally stopped after 2a. Friday they drove around at least every hour, Saturday I didn't see them after dinner. Very disappointed about how the weekend was ruined.
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Katydid05
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/03/2017
A-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
unexpected variety
0 % of users found this review helpful
In eastern South Dakota, you really can't beat this park for the variety of scenic options. I find new places to explore on every visit. Wandering any one of the forested trails in the Fall are particularly beautiful.
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

spacePeds
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/03/2017
B
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
bathroom
0 % of users found this review helpful
please replace the shower faucets in the rest room closest to us. it was leaking and then the whole bathroom was wet like someone hosed it down; even the toilet seat. either that or has someway moisture can be removed like by a fan system not just a box fan
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Angela
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/02/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Scenic Spot
0 % of users found this review helpful
We secured a camping spot "on the way" to the Black Hills and were very impressed (unexpectedly) with this State Park. I'd definitely recommend for anyone just wanting to have a nice weekend camping and I can see it being a final destination spot to park your RV / Tent etc. Happy camping.
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Doug
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/02/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Tent Camping
0 % of users found this review helpful
This was our second summer camping at Newton Hills and both experiences were beyond great! The tent sites are perfect...set back from the campers and lots of room from other tent sites. The cleanliness of the entire campground is great. I saw at least 3 different ladies cleaning the bathrooms throughout the weekend. Of course there will still be some bugs but this is by far the cleanest campground we've been to. My sister and brother-in-law camped with us this past time for the first time and couldn't stop talking about how it was such a great campground! We will be back!! I love how there's fire wood for sale on site that is kept dry and also a place to buy ice. The staff at the Welcome Center are always friendly and willing to help! There's lots of fun games and a beautiful lake to go swimming or kayaking on. We cant wait to come camping again!
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Mrs.McHarmful
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/02/2017
A-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Newton Hills
0 % of users found this review helpful
Overall, I think the campground is a bit too big to our liking with a three-year-old. The advantage was that we were there on a weekend and a lot of other children were around. I enjoy walking so it was nice to spend some time on the various trails and the picnic Trail. We were there in September so it was a nice walk, earlier in the summer I probably would not have enjoyed it as much. The staff here was very nice and accommodating.
(...more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Gerthe13
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/01/2017