• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    05/11/2018

    Blue Bell Campground

    Great Campground! Super clean restrooms! Excellent Campground Hosts! Would recommend to anyone!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/11/2018

    Black Hills Magic

    There's something extraordinarily special about these hills- the trails lead to some fantastic viewpoints... and some of the non-official places (i.e. Poet's Table) are well worth a look. The steps up to Black Elk Peak were icy in April.. on a previous hike, Sunday Gulch's boulders were also found to be very icy- but otherwise trails mostly remain good during the winter due to limited snow accumulation. State Game Lodge- camped once in February and was mostly just cold.. but appreciated that it was open (just vault toilet available). April- beautiful bathroom and showers, tent site next to a brook.. great place to stay!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/08/2018

    First Visit, but not our last! Don't miss the Buffalo !

    We were visiting the park on our way to the State of Washington and wanted to stop to visit our good friends who are volunteers at the park. We stayed one night in the Game Lodge Campground. The park and facilities are wonderful, and the opportunity to view a variety of wildlife in theie natural habitat was amazing. We will definately be back and would highly reccomend the park to anyone visiting the state. The campground is nice, but limited in facilities. sites have electric, but no water or sewer. Be sure and dump prior to arrival and fill up with water. Restroom and showers are clean and sites are paved and level and roomy. The wildlife loop is another don't miss opportunity in the park. They also have a very nice visitors center staffed by knowledgable volunteers. Be sure to say Hi to Jim and Sally for us and theoi other volunteers there as well. Plan on spending several days...one day does not do it justice, there is sooo much more to see.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/07/2018

    Highly recommend

    We drove down to Custer state park from Mount Rushmore. We stayed at Game lodge campground. Our campsite was right next to a creek, which h was beautiful. In the morning, we took the Wildlife loop road to Wind Cave. That was a one of a kind experience, would highly recommend it. You really do see all the wildlife mentioned in the brochure!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/01/2018

    Best part of our trip!

    Last summer we took a 3-week long road trip from our home in North Carolina to California and back. On our way there we drove through SD and spent two days in Custer State Park. We so enjoyed our time there! We would go back in a heartbeat.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/10/2017

    Father and Son trip

    We are from the twin cities (mpls /st paul)It was our 1st trip kind of last minute. The stop on our way to Yellowstone. We really enjoyed the drive up to needles highway the sights were amazing.Also went into Custer for some ice cream.The next time we come we will defenanintly stay more than one day.
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/04/2017

    Satisfied

    We weren’t planning on stopping at Custer State Park, but are so glad we did!. We only stayed one night and are planning on going again when we have more time!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/31/2017

    Beautiful scenery

    Extremely rude and discourteous site manager
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/25/2017

    Greatest time spent

    My family and I love,love, love staying in Custer State Park! I wish we could spend more time there. The camping cabins are always immaculate and so very comfortable. Whichever camping cabin we stay in is always a convenient distance from restrooms and showers. My only regret is the reservations for the camping cabins fill up too quickly- everyone must appreciate the same things we do!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/25/2017

    Great Stay at Custer

    This was our first stay at Custer State Park. This is a wonderful park with tons of things to do and places to visit. We are from Tennessee and we really enjoyed the park and the wildlife. We used the park as a base camp to explore all the places around the park. I would highly recommend this park to anyone. It would be perfect if it had full hookups. That is my only complaint. TnHiker
    (more...)
    courtesy of GuestRated.com

    Back to top