PARK REVIEWS

A minusOverall Rating
11/01/2017

Great Stay

We usually stay in October since it is less busy. It is a great campground with a nice view and well kept grounds and bike trails. They sell wood at the main office, which is helpful and it is fairly inexpensive. All the workers were very nice and helpful. Would definitely recommend this campground.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
11/01/2017

Great stay again

I stayed the last weekend of snagging. The man and woman working in the park this weekend were some of the most friendly people that I've ever ran into a South Dakota State Park. I especially enjoyed this weekend because it was very quiet with only a handful of people in the park. Late fall camping is the best kept secret
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/26/2017

Beautiful Place

We were all by ourselves - beautiful setting and fantastic facility
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/22/2017

Fall Stay

Overall was a pretty good stay. Need to mow more often to keep the bugs under control. (Possibly spray) Generally this park is almost always full, why wont you consider putting more "Full Service" sights in, increase the sight fee for full service and I think you would be surprised what people would pay for that luxury. Also why are the lakeside pads not kept up better. They cost abit more, but for what reason except closer to water. If you pay for lakeside, you should be able to have a lakeside view. The weeds and volunteer trees should be taken care of. Most of this could be done by a weed eater. There are only a few spots that you can actually get to the water to fish. Landscaping your lake edges would be fantastic, and by that I mean mowing, weed eating, and adding some sand or dirt to make it approachable. This would be a pretty easy fix and could possibly generate a lot more revenue. You have the scenic sight, utilize it. There is a UNLIMITED amount of Poison Ivy and Poison Oak along the lake. Why not take care of this. Does Yankton not have a Noxious Weed Regulation? Am sure you have the equipment to get this accomplished. Just seems like if there is any manual labor, it just is not done. We have camped here for years and they used to weed eat around the lake, but that seems to have quit. Noticed outside resources are used for mowing etc. maybe have a few of these OFF the mowers doing some labor. Alot of the trees need dirt or bark put around them, as they are hazards with the roots on top, have tripped over several of these. Love the new fishing dock, see so many families utilizing it. Beautiful park, lets keep it that way or make it even better. Thank You.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/11/2017

first time visit

This was our first visit to Chief White Crane. My son loves to fish on the river and in Lake Yankton. We normally stay at Lewis and Clark so we have to drive him over. We decided to try it here and we had a really nice time. Its very quiet and clean here. My son was in heaven, as fishing was a short walk away. The shower had the hottest water of any campground i've ever stayed at. The camp host was very friendly, as were our neighbors. We will stay again.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/10/2017

Family Fun

The park was very nice and kept up good. Awesome bike trail that goes by the lake.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/10/2017

Paddlefisherman

For the most part clean and lots of room. Close to the river.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/09/2017

Great Stay

We stayed in the Cabins on the lake. The inside of the cabins is very clean, they also already come equipped with a flyswatter and broom and dust pan as well. The mattress in the beds are very good for short stay, just need to bring whatever you will sleep on. There is a small covering just outside the door as well to cover you from any rain, which worked well for keeping things dry that did not fit inside the cabin. the deck is plenty big and also has a steel picnic table that is very handy. Down below the deck is also a fire pit for which we used each night. The entire campground was quiet and peaceful. The bathroom and shower facilities were also very clean. Overall everything was very well kept. We enjoyed our three night stay and would highly recommend to anyone.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/06/2017

My Happy Place

The camping sites are A+ most are spacious, and very well kept. I have been camping in this park since the late 70's [with my parents] and call this and the State Park above the Dam our Happy Place. Some of the bathhouses are needing some updating, but with our current government I don't see that funding coming anytime soon.
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com
A minusOverall Rating
10/04/2017

Great place

We enjoyed camping here. Clean bathrooms and showers. The staff were pleasant and welcoming. We really liked the bicycle path. We were able to ride all the way to Yankton without the worry of car traffic. We will definitely be back!
(more...)
courtesy of GuestRated.com

Back to top